Producer: Niels Alex Larsen & Statement
Recorded at: Fastbeat Studio, Copenhagen
Video clip: Keep You Alive
Review: 83/100 @
Ever wanted to find out what inspired a particular song?

Was it based on personal experience or simply passive observation?

What happened in the recording studio or on stage to make one song sound different from the rest?

These are just some of the question bands and musicians attempt to answer in Line 'em Up - the newest page of The Power Of Metal.Dk.

This is where your favourite bands comment on their albums, track by track, because as someone once said, “Ideas are the building blocks of ideas”.


Line'em Up with Niels Alex Larsen, guitarist in Statement.

Here’s a chance for you to tell our readers about your debut album: "Monsters".

But could you please start off by introducing the readers to the band?

Statement – The story of STATEMENT started in 2011, when Niels Alex - drummer of now departed Danish prime metal act Pilgrimz - met up with longtime friend and vocalist Jannick Brochdorf.

Niels Alex was already an experienced musician on the Danish metal scene and has been playing in bands since 1994. With Pilgrimz he has been playing shows alongside bands like Slipknot, Motörhead, Gojira, Carcass, The Haunted and Volbeat, and festivals like Roskilde, Sweden Rock and Metaltown, to name a few. But then Niels Alex wanted to do something else and ditched the drums in favour of the guitar and his love for classic hard rock!

Together with Jannick, who for a number of years had been writing songs on his own, they built the foundation for a classical hard rock band with clean vocals, lots of heavy guitar riffs, solos and themes – which resulted in the band STATEMENT.

The line-up was completed with bassist Martin Poulsen – from the death/grind band Drab, drummer Peter Thomsen with his former band Sode, and finally guitarist Jesper Steen Noachsen.

Could you please give us some info on the album: Where did you record the album and who has produced and mixed it?

Statement –  Monsters is produced by Niels Alex Larsen and Statement. The album is recorded in Fastbeat Studio, Copenhagen, while vocal recording, mix and mastering is handled by internationally acclaimed sound wizard Tue Madsen at Antfarm studio, Aarhus. 

And now onto your new album track-by-track, what inspired you, and what do what to express with this song etc.

01. Kill the Time

Statement – That one goes to my nephew Kristofffer, Cuz he named the band KILL THE TIME... But we found some other bands who was named that already...

02. Monsters

Statement – It's about to disappear into another reality, due to drinking / drugs and downs. A reality escape into the festivities and the empty layer of gold of night ... You feel persecuted souls and a slow insanity arises.

03. Say Hello

Statement – to take the chance when it presents itself, and not to give up if it's not your turn ... Keep in mind that you only have one life, and therefore you get the most out of it. Otherwise, the other just and live it for you, and before you've seen you, you have not got a damn thing out of it.

04. Crawling

Statement – This is just another love-song or?? to be losing someone you love, you can not escape who does not know what she wants in the relationship she is in. It can be hard to stand on the side and just look at without being able to do either on or off ...

05. Keep You Alive

Statement – the unattainable woman who only want you when she likes, and no one sees it and it drives you crazy that she just waiting for something "better" than you. It causes you to burn up the pain and jealousy.

06. Dropzone

Statement – a song dedicated to all the soldiers who are fighting around the world, the infamously trying to hold this world together we live in, and is about to come home from the hell of war and see their families again .... If they came home?

07. Control

Statement – to regain control of his life so it is not thoughts and bad memories that controls the whole thing

08. Childhood Dreams

Statement – it says everything in the lyrics, and is about an old childhood dream had come true. Imagine being able to be allowed to make a bold rock album, and go out and play with the big boys... stay rock!

09. To Be A Man

Statement – The song is about how one can feel powerless and lose everything on the floor and really do not know where you stand ... The only thing you have to hold on for himself and his own way to go ... The only thing you can do is to look favorably on his own life, and move on down the highway home.

10. Another Stage

Statement – Ladies And Gentlemen,,, Party Party Party, and men retiring of which will be one of our tribute acts to rock the stage.

11. Back To Life

Statement – acting essentially to come to a positive side after winter darkness. And a little "wake up call" from one's own inner being, not to focus on the negative things.

12. Need To Know

Statement – A thoughtful moment when the confirmation is in focus ...

13. Dad

Statement – A very melancholy ballad about Jannick lose his father, much too early in its best year for reasons never got the explanation. This song is dedicated to John (dikke) Brochdorf, you may rest in peace.

Tell us a bit about the artwork – who made it etc. and how important do you feel it is to have a cool artwork?

Statement – It is very important for us to have a cool design, both for our cover / CD and posters. Our entire look is simply designed by the Queen of STATEMENT Gitte Bo Hermann ... All her work is specifically made for the band, and all she has handmade / painted! It has taken Gitte Just over two years to draw all drawings and artwork of the website, to this was the right design ... We LOVE the whole heart about this album she has made ​​- Big thank you!

Any last words you want to round this interview off with?

Statement – To thank this interview with, we hope to see people happy and rock fans out at the venues! We started to plan a DK tour as we take on the road with the late summer and autumn.

It is important for us to say that everyone should be accepted, and you must remember to follow us on the web / Facebook and elsewhere ... There will also soon have a new music video, which is the proposed title song MONSTERS - Rejoice for it is really coooool! 


The Rock n'Roll way \ m / \ m / 

Niels Alex Larsen/Statement.


Kenn Jensen, April 2014