Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 17 March, 2014
Playing time: 58:20

Classic Hard Rock with tiny splashes of Metal in some songs, that is what the Danish band Statement gives us on their debut album 'Monsters'. The band is started up in 2011 when Nils Alex and the vocalist Jannick put their heads together. Niels was the drummer in the metal band Pilgrimzat before, but now he handles the guitars instead in this brand new project. The drummer Peter Thomsen is from the metal band Sode and Martin Poulsen has a history with the death/grind metal band Drab.

The music on 'Monsters' has inspiration from bands like: Scorpions, Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath and Metallica. The songs have various tempi and different characters. From calm sensitive rock ballads like 'Crawling' and 'To Be a Man' to classic hard rocking tracks like 'Keep You Alive', 'Childhood Dreams' and 'Control'. So even though the majority of the band members have been playing extreme metal for about 20 years, they all went back with a new found love for their musical rock n roll roots.

Statement stands for a straight forward hard rock with dusty boots and ripped jeans. I miss some technical instrumental skills, but they outweigh it by their hearts, soul and love for rock n roll. The title track 'Monsters' is a very groovy and catchy rock song with hefty attitudes and is a hard rock fist in the face. I also like 'Say Hello', which is a classy tune with a fancy guitar solo and some cool vocals from Jannick. He has a true metal voice, similar to James Hetfield in Metallica.

The heaviest track is 'Dropzone', which is almost a stoner metal song. My personal favourite song is the old-school-Metallica-like track 'Childhood Dreams'. Jannick sings like a mix of Blackie Lawless and Hetfield. Heavy as a ton of bricks!

My overall impression is; an interesting debut album with a wild blend of rock songs at a high standard. If you are a fan of down-to-earth/kick ass hard rock/metal, then is Statement something I have to recommend you check out...

Jannick Brochdorf: Vocals
Niels Alex Larsen: Lead guitars & Vocals
Martin Poulsen: Bass & Vocals
Peter Thomsen: Drums
Jesper Steen Noachsen: Guitars

01. Kill The Times
Say Hello
Keep You Alive
Childhood Dreams
To Be A Man
Another Stage
Back To Life
12. Need To Know
13. Dad
Label: Mighty Music
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 77/100
Reviewed by: Patrik J Skoglund
Date: 25 March, 2014
Website: statementband.com