Rating: 65/100

Reviewed by: Peter Laursen, April '05
MTM Music
Style: Melodic Rock

Affairs In Babylon

Refugee was a Canadian Rock band, originally known as "Michael Fury" formed in 1979, and did the predictable round of club gigs throughout Canada with various additions to the line-up. They split up 1983 and did various other works until reforming in 1984.

"Affairs In Babylon" was originally released on Passport Records, and distributed in Canada by A&M Records. They toured constantly throughout the country and earned a reputation for being a top-notch live act, but they began getting an identity crisis as people mistook the name Michael Fury for Myles Hunter himself (lead vocals & guitars). To compound matters Passport tried to push the band as a solo act. This didn't sit well with the band (Hunter included) so they bought back the rights to the album and signed a deal with Chrysalis. The album was remixed and modified with additional songs and 'Affairs In Babylon' was re-issued under the name Refugee with new drummer Brian Doerner (Helix). 

Now, MTM MUSIC is proud to release “Affairs In Babylon” for the first time on CD as a part of the successful MTM CLASSIX collection. The album features 4 unreleased bonus tracks and the booklet offers liner notes of Myles Hunter, Martyn Jones and Howard Helm.

Refugee is a very melodic rock band in the vein of Journey and Survivor. So if you're into melodic rock and AOR give Refugee a chance. I'm more into Hard Rock and METAL, but there are some very good songs to be found here on this release. Listen and decide for yourself. The release date is 9th May, 2005.

Recommended tracks: "Exiles In The Dark", "Here We Go Again" and "Mississippi Side Road" (Live bonus track)