Power of Metal.dk Review

Tony Mills
Over My Dead Body
Style: Hard Rock/Heavy Metal
Release date: 23 February, 2015
Playing time: 52:30

Taking a very personal experience, like, say, dying from a heart attack and being resurrected in a Norwegian airport, and letting that inspire your song writing and eventually an album is something that can just might foster a great collection of songs. 'Over My Dead Body' is not a title that is pulled out of thin air. Tony Mills, the former TNT, Sweet, Shy and Slam singer, did suffer from a heart attack, and now, almost five years later, here's the album where he documents his thoughts and feelings of that tour and his death, as it were. And, yeah, that's Mills' body on the cover of the album in case you're wondering.

Hauling in musicians from both Europe and the States, from bands like Royal Hunt, TNT, Dockers Guild, W.E.T and Return, and with his own capable voice on top, Mills delivers an introspective and dark hard rock/heavy metal album which most fans of melodic heavy metal and hard rock ought to appreciate.

Sometimes sounding a bit like Queensr˙che, sometimes a bit like Riot, sometimes even a bit like Saxon (listen to Somewhere in London, and you'll know what I mean), 'Over My Dead Body' contains eleven songs that display the kind of good, solid, catchy, classic rock song writing that means that you have a tendency to let the disc spin yet another time when you reach number 01 again. Now, that, ladies and gentlemen, is a sign of quality.

01. Time Won't Wait
02. 28 Flights
03. We Should Be On By Now
04. No Love Lost
05. Gate 21
06. My Death
07. Bitter Suite
08. Northern Star
09. 4 In The Morning
10. Somewhere in London
11. Free Spirits
Label: Battlegod Productions
Distribution: H'art Music
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 30 April, 2015
Website: www.tonymills-official.com