Power of Metal.dk Review

Jorn Lande & Trond Holter presents Dracula
Swing of Death
Style: Hard Rock/Heavy Rock
Release date: 23 January, 2015
Playing time: 46:59

A little background information: Trond Holter, also known as "Teeny" from the Norwegian glam rock kings Wig Wam, kicked off a side project back in 2009 called Swing of Death. Along with him were: Bernt "Flash" Jansen (Bass, Wig Wam), Jeanette Heidenstrøm (Vocals, Tuesday Girls), Lasse Finbråten (Keyboards, Circus Maximus) and Stig Buckholm (Drums, Crash!). The sub-title for the project kind of gives away the topic they are dealing with: "A Taste of Transilvania" - they are telling stories about vampires. Trond Holter has since 2011 also been a member of Jørn Lande's solo band Jorn, and now they have merged those things together on this project called: Jorn Lande & Trond Holter presents Dracula. A few changes have been made to the line-up for this recording; the female vocals on this album have been done by Lena Fløitmoen (Glam Slam) and the drums by Per Morten Bergseth (Fracture).

A rock opera about Count Vlad the III, Prince of Wallachia calls for drama, mystery and big soundscapes. But this is no ordinary rock opera per se, there's no storyteller and no interludes tying the story together, no they have chosen to take the project more towards the classic rock albums of the 70's; much like Meat Loaf did on early albums, but also with references for heavy rock in the vein of Dio.

There's no point in talking about the talent of Jorn Lande; all I will say is that he delivers one of his strongest performances ever on this disc! But Trond Holter does not stand back and leaves the scene for Jorn Lande, no he shines equally on this disc, and delivers a first class guitar performance: awesome riffs and brilliant leads. All 10 songs are of the highest caliber in heavy rock, and if you are into this kind of rock; then I suggest you pick it up...

01. Hands of Your God (3:38)
02. Walking On Water (5:43)
03. Swing of Death (4:37)
04. Masquerade Ball (3:34)
05. Save Me (4:19)
06. River of Tears (4:50)
07. Queen of the Dead (6:12)
08. Into the Dark (3:33)
09. True Love Through Blood (3:57)
10. Under the Gun (5:08)
Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 18 January, 2015
Website: Trond Holter @ Facebook