Power of Metal.dk Review

In Legend
Stones at Goliath
Style: Piano Metal
Release date: 9 January, 2015
Playing time: 62:45

In Legend is an enigma. It sounds familiar, but at the same time it does not. It is definitely a Melodic Metal band, but there is no lead guitar, and no guitar solos. There is, however, a lead piano, or rather two of them. The pianos do not dominate the album as much as one could suspect though. They are a nice and important addition, but it is Bastian Emig’s (Van Canto) strong singing voice that makes the album work. The video for their song “Envoys of Peace” demonstrates this perfectly. The range of how Emig delivers his lines is huge and very noticeable, and adds that nice little extra that is so important for a band that does also have a very clear political message. The fact that the video was recorded in Ukraine when things started to become dangerous was obviously not planned by the band, but it is definitely a coincidence that stresses how important the lyrics are for In Legend. But back to the pianos. They obviously are a crucial element for the band, but they are more remscient of a rhythm guitar. They give structure to the songs, but they do not scream for attention just like a lead guitar would.

Fans who prefer traditional Metal might find the album boring due to the lack of guitar solos, but fans who are happy to try out new things might want to give it a try. It is definitely different, but not as different as one should think.  

01. Envoys of Peace
02. Threatened
03. Lonely
04. King of Apathy
05. Empire of Concrete
06. Monuments of Eternity
07. To New Horizons
08. The Voodoo Girl
09. Choices In Coma
10. Empty In Place
11. Alienation
12. A 1000 Paper Cranes
13. On The Morrow
14. Another Me
Label: Carrycoal
Distribution: Eat The Beat Music
Reviewed by: Markus Falkenberg
Date: 2 January, 2015
Website: www.inlegend.de