Power of Metal.dk Review

Forging the Sanctuary
Style: Death Metal
Release date: January, 2015
Playing time: 49:46

My goodness, this one rolled over me like an avalanche from the Alps! The second album by Swiss death metal combo Defaced has a lot to offer those of us who on the one hand appreciate the old school of death metal, yet love variation and an influx of elements from other branches of metal. In the case of 'Forging the Sanctuary', you are offered titbits of black metal and metalcore garnished with atmospheric, flowing riffing and great leads.

First and foremost 'Forging the Sanctuary' is a brutal death metal album, with lots of blast beats, groove and a brutal growl by vocalist Thomas Gertsch, but as I've already indicated, there is so much more in store for the listener, and what drives this, really, is both musicality and technical ability, fused with something I can best interpret as open minds to other styles and influences. Cheese, chocolate, low tax rates and furiously great death metal - what's not to like?!

1. Because I Despise
2. Antithesis
3. Rapture Through Bondage
4. Sower of Discord
5. And with It Rose Satan
6. I, the State, Am the People
7. Forging the Sanctuary
8. Venomous Eden
9. Humanity's Lost Hope
10. You Get What You Deserve
11. End of Torment
Label: Rising Nemesis Records
Distribution: Hardbeat
Artwork rating: 90/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 29th of March, 2015
Website: Defaced @facebook