Power of Metal.dk Review

Prime Incursion
Style: Death Metal
Release date: 3 April, 2015
Playing time: 39:00

Besides four songs they already put on their 2013 promo cd, this debut contains 5 new songs and with inking a deal with Metal Blade the expectations are rather high. With rather known members in the Dutch scene like vocalist Kevin Quilligan (Erebus, Temple), drummer Michiel van der Plicht (God Dethroned, Dictated, Winter Of Sin), bassplayer Mickeal Schuurman and on guitars Sanne van Dijk (Erebus) and Koen Romeijn(Detonation,Engorge) there is enough experience indeed.

Apophys is an asteroid that perhaps will collide with our planet in the future, but first it should fall through a keyhole to get closer to us. So no need for you to pack your things already or take steps to do what you always wanted to do, but couldn't find the time for.

Brutal, that is how I want to describe the style they play. American sounding death metal with influences of the more extreme bands like Suffocation, Morbid Angel and Nile, but a little less technical. Not that there are no difficult pieces and tempo changes, no enough of that stuff, but you hear that the band didn't want to exaggerate. The songs all have a head and a tail, the riffing is aggressive and tight and Kevin grunts and growls like a mad dog (I mean this positive). The drums hammer a way, but take care of a certain groove in several songs also. "The Final Step" is a good example of that, one of the slower tracks with lots of groove and some deathcore drum parts. If you want some music that is a little less gory (without pig squeels and blood, piss and other gastric juice lyrics) and technical than for example Morbid Angel, Cannibal Corpse and Suffocation, you sure have to check this out.

01. Dimensional Odyssey
Requiem For the Absurd
The Antidote
The Sentient
The Final Step
Humanity's Epilogue
The Red Planet
Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating:  
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 2 April, 2015
Website: http://www.apophys.nl