Power of Metal.dk Review

Wicked Sensation
Adrenaline Rush
Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 28 November , 2014
Playing time: 61:57

Wicked Sensation from Karlsruhe, Germany releases their 4th studio album 'Adrenaline Rush' on AOR Heaven and I can't understand how this band has been outside my radar all these years. Their earlier albums are: 'Reflected' (2001), 'Exceptional' (2004) and 'Crystallized' (2010). Wicked Sensation plays fabulous melodic hard rock in a blend of Van Halen, Deep Purple, Whitesnake and the stiffer rock songs from Toto.

The powerhouse vocalist David Reece (Accept, Gypsy Rose, Bangalore Choir, Sircle of Silence) supports the band on 'Adrenaline Rush' and is a stand-in for the ordinary vocalist Robert Soeterboek, who sadly has been forced to step back because of personal health problems. 'Adrenaline Rush' kicks off with "King of the World" and they deliver a pile of awesome guitar hooks and a flood of creamy melodies and Harry Hess (Harem Scarem) can be heard together with David Reece in this great track. Mr. Hess gives his honor and voice in the next tune and can be heard in the chorus, again. Accompanied by the fine keyboard player Eric Ragno (Graham Bonnet) in the top track "Same Old Situation", which sounds like an perfect mixture of Van Halen and Extreme and it steams of catchy rhythms and hot riffs.

In "Misery" and "Leave me like a Fool" it swings and rocks out of my speakers like Whitesnake and Van Halen did in the good old 80's and Michael Klein and Sang Vong plays the guitars like two great string bending masters. "Blue Painted Sky" is a terrific track with big harmonies and a superb vocal performance. Wicked Sensation is only delivering high quality songs in their playlist. "Angel in Black" is a hidden rock gem in the middle of the album in darker shades than the earlier songs. "Living on my Memories" and "Desperate Nation" oozes of tasty, oily and juicy 80's hard rock melodies with BIG guitars and David Reece seems to just love his time at the microphone. "Desperate Nation" is probably my favourite song on this golden disc.

The title track "Adrenaline Rush" is a harder and stiffer metal track and the band was able to get Mathias Dieth (ex. U.D.O. guitarist) to do an outstanding guitar solo. A killer song! "No more Lies" has big strokes of Deep Purple and Whitesnake and the last song “This Time" is an acoustic ballad and the perfect closing song on a stunning album.

The producer, Dennis Ward (Unisonic, Pink Cream 69) is the man who gave 'Adrenaline Rush' the powerful pressures and heavy punches. Michael Klein, the band’s strong man, lead guitarist and main songwriter has a band in world class and I have to get my hands on their old albums because this is delicate ear-candy for us fans of melodic hard rock/metal.

One of this years most surprising top notch albums, on my list anyhow!!!

Line up:
Robert Soeterboek – Vocals
Michael Klein – Guitars, backing vocals, bass
Sang Vong – Guitars, backing vocals
Martin Mannhardt – bass
Bernd Spitzner – keyboards
Dirk Bruinenberg – drums

Guest Musicians:
David Reece – All lead vocals
Harry Hess – choirs, backing vocals on: King of the World, Same old Situation, Misery, Leave me like a Fool, Angel in Black
Mathias “Don” Dieth – guitar solo on “Adrenaline Rush”
Eric Ragno – keyboards on “Same old Situation”
Ritchie Kovac – percussion on “This Time”
Jan Knopf – backing vocals on “Blue Painted Sky”)

01. King of the World
Same old Situation
Leave me like a Fool
Blue Painted Sky
Angel in Black
Living on my Memories
Desperate Nation
Adrenaline Rush
No more Lies
Label: AOR Heaven
Distribution: GerMusica PR
Artwork rating: 91/100
Reviewed by: Patrik J Skoglund
Date: 21 November, 2014
Website: www.wicked-sensation.com