Power of Metal.dk Review

The Wild Hunt
Style: Black Metal
Release date: 19 August, 2013
Playing time: 62:49

Watain's raw reputation won't be bothered by the release of The Wild Hunt, the band's fifth album.

Watain don't negotiate. Their motto's about staying true to their art, release after release. The band find it important to "start from where they stopped last", which means creating bombastic, technical metal, and diabolical melodies.
The Wild Hunt's songs will make you burst with new energy. The band live being a riot, I have a hard time containing myself before encountering them forthcoming week at BLASTFEST Metal Festival in Bergen, Norway.
For those of you who might have slept in class, you have a new chance to witness one of the rawest live bands of our days at HELLFEST in France this June.

The ambitious Watain are now putting all their effort in making and distributing their music, preaching for the worthy survival of extreme metal. The Wild Hunt is a consecration of all their true engagement to metal.

All that had got lost in the abyss of new commercial black metal has now arisen. Watain has won The Wild Hunt.

Savour without questions.

01. Night Vision
02. De Profundis
03. Black Flames March
04. All that may Bleed
05. The Child Must Die
06. They Rode On
07. Sleepless Evil
08. The Wild Hunt
09. Outlaw
10. Ignem Veni Mittere
11. Holocaust Dawn
Label: Century Media
Distribution: Universal (Denmark)
Reviewed by: LyM
Date: 15 February, 2014
Website: www.templeofwatain.com