Power of Metal.dk Review

Vanishing Point
Distant is the Sun
Style: Progressive Melodic Power Metal
Release date: 21 February, 2014
Playing time: 63:00

Vanishing Point from down under (Melbourne) releases their fifth album. It took almost seven years to make the successor to 'The Fourth Season'. Not a lot of things have changed since then, perhaps you can say that the album sounds a bit more progressive and technical, but the songs still sound very melodic and catchy.

In the line-up you don't see a member responsable for the (orchestral) keyboard parts, but there are quite a lot to hear on this new album. This sees to it that the songs sound very melodic and a bit bombastic. Fortunately the guitar riffs are rather in front of the mix also, which makes the album rather heavy instead of wimpy. Silvio Massaro is a good singer with a powerful sound. In fact you can describe the music as a mix of European hardrock/AOR with progressive and power metal elements. Mix Sonata Arctica, Helloween, VandenPlas, Masterplan, Threshold, Royal Hunt and some Dream Theater and you get something like this. As a guest you find Tony Kakko, singing parts on the track "Cicrle of Fire". Besides some rather up-tempo tracks there are slower ones like the power-ballad "Let the River Run". Here you hear that Silvio is an excellent singer indeed. After a heavier track the song "Story of Misery" is again a slower one with lots of piano and keyboard parts. The album has a nice balance of heavier and more melodic emotional tracks, which brings enough variety to keep the entire album interesting. If it was a good idea to end with an accoustic instrumental track..... I personally am not fond of that, because the album just petered out.

With this fifth album Vanishing Point has matured and shows that they are a band to reckon with.

01. Beyond Redemption
King of Empty Promises
Distant is the Sun
When Truth Lies
Circle of Fire
Let the River Run
Denied Deliverance
Story of Misery
Era Zero
Pillars of Sand
11. As December Fades
12. Handful of Hope
13. Walls of Silence
14. April
Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 21 February, 2014
Website: www.vanishing-point.com.au