Power of Metal.dk Review

Three Sixes
Know God, No Peace...
Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: 20 September, 2014
Playing time: Hm, not quite sure...hidden tracks

I admit that the packaging sometimes matters. When you reveive a large package from the States and inside it find a CD inside a mock-up holy bible, your attention is certainly there. Cudos to Three Sixes for putting a lot of effort into the promo package! See pictures below.

Packaging like this of course spurs high expectations. First of all, Three Sixes are not afraid of experimenting. They use a foundation of thrash metal and sprinkle it with industrial elements and the outcome is all in all very diverse (which I like) and certainly has a potential to entertain listeners. Add to this effective gang shouts in the song Truth, a 90s techno feel in Soul Destroyer, leading your thoughts to Fear Factory although never quite as heavy as they were back in the day. There's also the great staccato energy of Unit 731 and the slightly unusual cover version of AC/DC's Thunderstruck.

There are many good things to mention on 'Know God...', but there are also a couple of fillers, which could easily have been left out. The album could have been slightly more focused without the tunes Hand of Hell and Underground Celebrity, none of which add particularly to, well, anything.

One thing that might decide if you like this album or not could be the effort of vocalist Damien. I've had days where I couldn't stand 'Know God, No Peace...', simply because of his voice and other days, it's been fine. He is certainly intense, there is no doubt about that. If you imagine a crossover of Bobby Blitz and Mille from Kreator, you're pretty much there. Yeah, it's that bad/good, depending on which foot you got out of bed this morning. I can really only recommend that you check it out for yourself and judge. It's in many ways an ambition release, but, as I already indicated, not without its flaws.

01. Saviour
02. Lead Winged Angel
03. Darkside
04. Truth
05. Arch Enemy
06. Soul Destroyer
07. Kingdom of Lies
08. Hand of Hell
09. Saint?
10. Thunderstruck
11. Underground Celebrity
12. Unit 731
13. Where Eternity Starts
14. Revelation
15. Know God, No Peace
...   Hidden track
Label: Universal Sign Records
Promotion: The band
Artwork rating: 50/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 5 October, 2014
Website: www.threesixes.com