Power of Metal.dk Review

The Fierce and the Dead
Spooky Action
Style: Math Rock/Prog Rock
Release date: 4 November, 2013
Playing time: 39:56

Who says instrumental music is boring? I know there are many out there that simply skip a band if they don't have a vocalist, but, if you do this, you'll miss some truly fantastic music. Take this new album from The Fierce & the Dead, "Spooky Action". It is completely unique, eclectic, and jammed with personality. It's the very definition of enjoyable.

The band certainly leans towards the math rock label, though that doesn't cover it even close to completely. The music, however, is full of sharp, sudden changes, and the fast pace of the music makes all of this seem so breath-taking. It's a roller coaster ride of music in every conceivable way. The music is very bass driven, as Kevin Feazey on bass is one of the highlights of the album. Loud and technical, the bass is the very foundation of the album. Add in Matt Stevens and Steve Cleaton on some very diverse guitars, and you know you are in for some funky interplay between instruments. Stuart Marshall adds oomph to all of this with his goosebump-inducing performance.

"Spooky Action", then, is technically proficient, but the personality is what really sets this album apart from the rest. Part of it comes from the guest musicians on brass and cello, but the rest comes from superior, playful writing. This is not a dark album. It is hefty, but light-hearted, fun, and delightful. The instrumental interplay is one point of wonder, as no one instrument overshadows the others. Like a well-oiled machine, The Fierce & the Dead pound and jam away with a perfection of unity. They can switch from folksy to metallic to rockin' all in the blink of an eye.

So, then, "Spooky Action" is the intersection of hand clappin', foot stompin', and head bangin'. It's not only a treat musically, but it's also a head-scratching good time because it is so complex, but so, well, fun. Skilled musicians alone could not have made this album. "Spooky Action" was written by true artists.

01. Part 4 (3:34)
02. Ark (4:03)
03. Let's Start A Cult (3:36)
04. Pyramid Hat (3:09)
05. I Like It, I'm Into It (4:07)
06. Intermission 3 (2:37)
07. Spooky Action (3:15)
08. And The Bandit (4:42)
09. Entropy (2:57)
10. Part 5 (1:51)
11. Chief (6:04)
Label: Bad Elephant Music
Distribution: Bad Elephant Music
Artwork rating: 85/100
Reviewed by: Jason Spencer
Date: 19 February, 2014
Website: www.fierceandthedead.com