Power of Metal.dk Review

Swedish Hitz Goes Metal
Volume II
Style: Cover metal
Release date: 25 October, 2014
Playing time: 45:43

Seriously, I don't know why I do this. When the first of these collections came out I did it too. I thought: 'Hey, ABBA were cool. Great tunes, eh, eh! And with metal in there, it can't go wrong - I'll review it!' It did. It was a fun idea, but for the most part a massacre, a rape of good music.

And now this idiot (me) thinks that the people behind the Swedish Hitz Goes Metal must have learned something. It turns out they've learnt just as much as I have; Not a damned thing!

Volume II of the Swedish Hitz is worse than the first one because they first of all used all the best songs the first time and secondly because they still haven't understood that ABBA are really hard to do justice. The magic from those fabulous songs is entirely gone in these versions.

I'll be the first person to admit that I haven't followed the Swedish pop scene very closely in recent years, and that of course means that I don't even have the joy of recognition for the material by Robyn, Da Buzz, Meja and Loreen. I've no clue what the original songs sound like. As for My Favourite Game by The Cardigans, it's a way cool song which I know very well, but it simply doesn't work in the hair metal version.

Fun idea taken at least one step too far. This is not worth your pocket money, boyz and girlz.

01. Dancing Queen (ABBA)
02. Don't Stop The Music (ROBYN)
03. Alive (DA BUZZ)
04. One Of Us (ABBA)
05. Tiger (ABBA)
06. Does Your Mother Know (ABBA)
07. Rock Me (ABBA)
08. Voulez-Vous (ABBA)
09. Take A Chance On Me (ABBA)
10. All About The Money (MEJA)
11. Euphoria (LOREEN)
12. My Favourite Game (THE CARDIGANS)
Label: Doolittle Group
Distribution: Doolittle Group
Artwork rating: 45/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 18 October, 2014
Website: www.swedish-hitz.com