Power of Metal.dk Review

Steve Hackett
Genesis Revisited: Live at The Royal Albert Hall
Style: Progressive Rock
Release date: 30 June, 2014
Playing time: 120:24

With rumors and hopes for a new Genesis tour filling my social media, my only response is that Steve Hackett, the great guitarist of Genesis, is already giving us the sound and experience of Genesis through his Genesis Revisited tour. Personally, I will get to see the live show in a few months, but this live album recorded at the famous Royal Albert Hall is quite a teaser for me, and quite an experience in and of itself.

First of all, the production values are enormously high. Hackett's guitar (probably the most important part) thunders as if in a vacuum, and the array of instruments all sound well-mixed and larger than life. I especially love the sax and flute work from Rob Townsend. These musicians, and all the rest, are all incredible, and there's a reason Hackett chose them. The presentation is rather "epic", if I can use that word. It keeps you guessing at what will be played next and how the songs will have changed. This is a sophisticated and professional show, through and through.

Yet, everyone wants to know about the tracklist. Honestly, it's pretty stellar. Obviously, there's not much reason for me to go into why certain Genesis songs are so great, as that's been done to death a million times over by others. However, I will say that the songs all sound great, and I love Hackett's changes. Everything from "Dance on a Volcano" to "The Return of the Giant Hogweed" to the spectacular visions of "Supper's Ready" and "Watcher in the Skies" are all different, yet the same. Their best moments are for sure left intact. Though most people dislike it, my favorite Genesis album is "Wind & Wuthering", and so I was more than pleased to see my favorite Genesis songs "Unquiet Slumber for the Sleepers", "In the Quiet Earth", and "Afterglow" in the tracklist. Not only that, but they have been modified with a new jazziness that elevates them considerably.

In all honestly, I think Hackett has improved upon most of the tracks he has modified. It may just be modern recording methods, but the songs have much more contrast between highs and lows, much more depth, and a certain personality that simply fits. Hackett's "Genesis Revisited: Live at the Royal Albert Hall", then, is a wonderful live album that almost stands as an album all by itself. Hackett is continuing his strong solo career, and he deserves to be recognized more.


01. Dance on a Volcano
02. Dancing With the Moonlit Knight
03. Fly on a Windshield
04. Broadway Melody of 1974 (Vocals: Gary O'Toole)
05. The Carpet Crawlers (with Ray Wilson)
06. The Return of the Giant Hogweed
07. The Musical Box
08. Horizons
09. Unquiet Slumbers for the Sleepers...
10....In That Quiet Earth
11. Afterglow
12. I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe)
13. Firth of Fifth (with John Wetton)
14. Ripples (with Amanda Lehmann)
15. The Fountain of Salmacis
16. Supper's Ready

17.Watcher of the Skies
18.Los Endos

Label: InsideOut Music
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 80/100
Reviewed by: Jason Spencer
Date: 8 September, 2014
Website: www.hackettsongs.com