Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Hard Rock /AOR
Release date: 20 June, 2014
Playing time: 40:10

Fans of AOR / Melodic Rock has a new sweet candy bar to chew on. Seven is a South African/British AOR group that was working with the legendary John Parr way back in the early 90s. They released a few singles, but their album was never completed before the band was dropped from their label deal. Seven is delivering some classy and high class AOR songs on this shining album. The songs have been unfinished and unreleased for 15 or so years until Escape Music convinced the guys to re-record the songs.

The band is fronted by the excellent vocalist Mick Devine and the album is completely smacked with very melodic songs and is packed in an flawless production by the Swedish guitarist and producer Lars Chris. Very mature and grown-up rock sound with an silky and clear keyboard sound and when we talk about the keyboards.... What an impressive list of guest keyboard players they have. I'm forced to say that this is one of the "softest" rock albums I have reviewed on this site, but I know that we got readers who like this kind of gentle melodic rock. If you like bands like: Work of Art, Eclipse, Talisman, Foreigner, Journey, Asia, Styx, Toto, Street Talk or Heart you won't be disappointed with Sevens debut disc.

"7" is filled with cracking 80s classic melodic rock tunes in an fresh and clear production and I can't find any filler songs or so-so tracks. I'm very happy that Escape Music manage to get these guys together again and made this album available to the AOR audience.

This is such an album, which can be called timeless AOR and I will probably be sitting in the retirement home when I'm 75 and still love this...

Seven's line up:
Mick Devine – Lead Vocals
Keith Mcfarlane – Guitar, Vocals
Pat Davey- Bass, Vocals
Simon Lefevre – Keyboards, Vocals
Austin “Oz” Lane – Drums

Special guests
Lars Chris: Guitars
Mark Mangold: Keyboards
Adam Wakeman: Keyboards
Fredrick Bergh: Keyboards
Dig Digital: Keyboards
Tomas Coox: Piano and strings arrangement
Fretless Bass: Shuji Matsumoto  on “Strangers”
Andy Loos: Bass

01. Shoot To Kill
Inside Love
Thru The Night
Never Too Late
Don't Break My Heart
Say Goodbye
Label: Escape Music
Distribution: Sound Pollution
Artwork rating: 84/100
Reviewed by: Patrik J Skoglund
Date: 19 June, 2014
Website: www.escape-music.com