Power of Metal.dk Review

The Soundchaser Archives
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: 23 May, 2014
Playing time: 132:00

To celebrate their 30th anniversary the band decided to search their historic archives. The result is 30 songs, of which some indeed sound very ancient and only a few make me enthusiastic. Re-mixes, old demo songs, leftovers that didn't make the album, bonus tracks, demo session songs and even a few tracks taken from their first EP under their old name Avenger can be heard here.

Fans of the band will be happy with this album and they can make their collection even more complete. The older songs don't sound that good (bad production), in fact the sound of almost every song is different and that is logical, but a bit irritating also. Peavy Wagner has never been and will never be a top vocalist, but on the old songs he sometimes sounds so very false that it is almost cult. I know that every band has to release something with an anniversary, but I have heard better celebrations from a lot of bands.

I advice fans to buy the limited luxury version with a DVD of a live perfomance from 2013. The metal fan in general, not real die-hard Rage fans, better wait for a new recorded album by the band.

Anybody Home?
Mystery Trip
In Union
Long Hard Road
Full Moon
French Bouréé
A Perfect Day
09. Enough is Enough
10. Here Comes the Night
11. Spiritual Awakening
12. Lost in the Void
13. The Missing Link
14. Another Kind of Madness
15. Down to the Bone

01. Speed of Sound
02. Darkness Turns to Light
03. Death is Alive
04. Gentle Murders
05. From the Cradle to the Grave
06. Refuge
07. Fugue No. 5
08. Last Goodbye
09. Dirty Wings
10. The Pit and the Pendulum
11. Waterfalls
12. Heads Off
13. Assorted By Satan
14. Shame on You
15. Soundchaser

Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Sony Music
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 23 May, 2014
Website: www.facebook.com/officialrage