Power of Metal.dk Review

Pinnick Gales Pridgen
Style: Blues Rock
Release date: 8 July, 2014
Playing time: 64:23

Magna Carta was always game for pioneering ‘supergroups’, as Liquid Tension Experiment, Black Light Syndrome and many others have proved. Less than 2 years ago this Prog Rock label acted as matchmaker for a very particular trio of musicans: bassist/vocalist dUg Pinnick (King's X), guitarist/vocalist Eric Gales (Eric Gales Band, Lauryn Hill) and drummer Thomas Pridgen (ex Mars Volta, Suicidal Tendencies). ‘Particular’ since their backgrounds share an inclination for Funk and groove, factors which inevitably re-emerge in this second Pinnick Gales Pridgen outing.

So yes, there’s an abundance of groovy Hard Rock with strong Blues and Funk undertones (think Lenny Kravitz and Jimi Hendrix, then turn up the volume). The vocals are deep and soulful, the songs abrasive but with generally catchy choruses and the level of musicianship is top-notch. Thus, the ingredients for a spectacular album are within reach…but in reality it doesn’t quite get there. For example I missed a certain pluckiness in the songwriting, in the vocal interpretation and in the drums – factors that kept me, only just, from diving headfirst into the music.

After spinning the album a few times, I found myself returning to the same few songs. One of these was ‘Watchman’, featuring a particularly inspired Gales aptly backed by a gripping rhythm section. ‘Psychofunkadelic Blues’ is self-explanatory and delivers on the exuberance that the title infers – basically a sort of Hendrix for the 21st century.

“PGP 2” will be of particular interest to fans of King’s X and Mars Volta and of Progressive Rock but I also suspect the album will appeal to fans of rhythm-driven Metal/Rock such as Rage Against The Machine and Pantera.

Pinnick Gales Pridgen "PGP2" album trailer:

01. Every Step of the Way
02. It's Not My Time to Die
03. Psychofunkadelic Blues
04. Watchman
05. Have You Cried?
06. Like You Used to Do
07. Build It Back Up
08. The Past is the Past
09. La Donna
10. I Ain't Got No Money
11. Down to the Bone

12. Jambiance
Label: Magna Carta
Get the disc: Magna Carta
Reviewed by: Chris Galea
Date: 8 August, 2014
Website: www.pgpband.com