Power of Metal.dk Review

Neal Morse
Songs from November
Style: Singer/Songwriter
Release date: 18 August, 2014
Playing time: 47:46

Neal Morse is, hands down, one of my favorite musician and songwriter, and even though I don't share his religious beliefs I respect him for his views. His solo career has tree branches: the all-out progressive rock side, the singer/songwriter side and the worship series. I have no clue what his worship albums sound like, and this new album "Songs from November" is only the third one exploring the singer/songwriter side of things, you could say this is the follow-up to "It's Not Too Late" (2001).

A small warning: fans, who are looking for a full-blown progressive rock outburst need to stop reading! This is a soft and mellow rock album that has more in common with artists like Joe Cocker and Billy Joel. This album has strings to pop rock, gospel and classic rock, and it's not a religious album, more of a spiritual and emotional album.

The core of this album is direct, catchy and accessible rock songs, perfectly played and produced. But even your average prog rock fan (?) should think twice before purchasing this new solo album from Neal Morse. I like it, but I am also a big fan of Neal Morse!

Best moments: "Heaven Smiled", "Tell Me Annabelle" and "Daddy's Daughter".

01. Whatever Days
02. Heaven Smiled
03. Flowers in a Vase
04. Love Shot an Arrow
05. Song for the Free
06. Tell Me Annabelle
07. My Time of Dying
08. When Things Slow Down
09. Daddy's Daughter
10. Wear the Chains
11. The Way of Love
Label: InsideOut Music
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 17 August, 2014
Website: www.nealmorse.com