Power of Metal.dk Review

Mors Principium Est
Dawn of the 5th Era
Style: Melodic Death Metal
Release date: 5 December, 2014
Playing time: 48:00

With a name like 'death is the beginning' (translated into English) the band has an excellent name for this genre. With their 2003 album "Inhumanity" the band got my blessing because of the very strong riffs and the aggression on that album. With some keyboard lines they created a kind of nice atmosphere and that suited me.

The band plays the best Göthenburg metal not coming from Sweden. Beautiful melodies, thrashy kind of riffing and harsh grunts from Ville Viljanen. Big thumbs up for both guitar players; Andy Gillion and Kevin Verlay, for their excellent riffs and soli. Just listen to the instrumental track "Apricity" in which one outstanding solo follows the other. In "Monster in Me" Mors Principium Est creates the right atmosphere with some keys and the melodic twin solo finishes it off. After that it goes on very fast with "Wrath of Indra" and even blast beats in the almost black metal sounding track "The Journey" can be heard on this album. The band has succeeded again in mixing melody, speed and aggression in a perfect way.

If you are into In Flames, Dark Tranquility and At the Gates this is an album you can't ignore. Finnish melodic death worked out to perfection delivered by some very technical skilled musicians. 

01. Enter the Asylum
God Has Fallen
Leader Of the Titans
We Are the Sleep
Innocence Lost
I Am War
Monster in Me
09. Wrath of Indra
10. The Journey
11. The Forsaken
Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 6 December, 2014
Website: www.facebook.com/MPEofficial