Power of Metal.dk Review

Iron Man
Generation Void (Re-issue)
Style: Doom Metal
Release date: 8 July, 2014
Playing time: 44:25

“Generation Void” had been an elusive album of my pre-internet forays. Now Shadow Kingdom is making it more adequately available, with some DVD footage thrown into the deal.

To be honest I don’t think this is Iron Man’s finest moment – the sound is too polished, vocalist Dan Michalak seems unsure on how to sing and the riffs of Al Morris III sometimes wander about aimlessly. Thankfully the album has attributes that elevates it beyond mediocre status. ‘Winds Of Change’, for instance, is magnificent in its bluesy melancholia. And the groovy ‘King Of Kings’ reminds us what a prime riffmeister Mr Morris is.

An effusive use of acoustic guitars and a generally mellow tempo are the salient characteristics of “Generation Void”. The album closes in a most unusual manner, an instrumental track consisting of a drum solo, courtesy of Vic Tomaso. All in all this is quite an atypical Iron Man album that nevertheless remains deeply entrenched in the old-school Doom genre.

Despite its shortcomings, still an essential item for Doom Metal aficionados.

01. On the Mountain
02. Boston Strangler
03. Survivor
04. King of Kings
05. Winds of Change
06. Generation Void
07. As the Gods Have Spoken
08. Ironica Blues
09. Forever Yours
10. Shadows of Darkness
11. Juggernaut
Label: Shadow Kingdom Records
Promotion: Clawhammer PR
Reviewed by: Chris Galea
Date: 15 July, 2014
Website: www.ironmanband.com