Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 24 February, 2014
Playing time: 43:40

How Canadians rockers Incura ever got on Inside Out Records, I'll never know. Maybe it's simply Inside Out's affiliation with Century Media. I can't be sure. Somehow, though, these rockers got on a progressive label, which is rather misleading. Incura, to be sure, is not progressive. They are nothing more than hard, modern rock with some small twists and nods to Muse. That's it! So, the confusion aside, is this re-issue of Incura's debut album any good?

I can't speak for everyone. I can only give my opinion. Therefore, I have to say that I find this album irritating, juvenile, and tired.  I had heard great things about this self-titled album, to the point where I thought I was going to be amazed. Instead, Incura is nothing more than a dime-a-dozen emo wannabe band. Their basic sound consists of whiny vocals, heavier distorted guitars that sometimes segue into more finger-licious displays, and mediocre drums and bass that are both buried in the mix. To this, they add some unremarkable piano passages and some strings here and there.  It's all very pop-ish in the worst sense of the word. In fact, I could definitely hear some of these songs on American Idol or something.

One of the main problems is the vocalist Kyle Gruninger. Damn, is he annoying. His whiny, nasally vocals lack any class, skill, or artistry. They're like the million emo bands that came and went a decade ago, only possibly worse. Honestly, I could barely get through the album because of how annoying he is. However, the lyrics are no better. They're your basic lovesick frivolities, spiteful rants, and shallow philosophies. Adults need not apply.

Those aren't my only problems, though. I can deal with an annoying vocalist or with crappy lyrics. However, the music is simply uninspired. I literally laughed aloud when I read on Incura's website that they consider their music unclassifiable. Hah! They go on and on about how complex and eclectic their music is supposed to be, but the album features almost none of it.  Here and there, such as the very beginning of "Get the Gun", I had hope. Yet, time and again, the album let me down with unimaginative solos, short and boring instrumentals, and basically zero melody. They also claim to be influenced by the theater. I can hear it sometimes, such as on "Who You Are", but it's not very captivating as it soon devolves into another mess of normal.

All in all, this is a tough album to get through for me. All the songs sound the same, and all the songs end up reverting to the same format. If you want to claim the progressive label, please deliver. Incura is not progressive, no matter how much they throw that word on their advertisements. If you happen to like boy bands or emo rock, then this album might jive with you. However, if you are looking for meaty music or even just beautiful music; stay far, far away from Incura's debut.

01. Get the Gun
02. I Breathe This
03. I'm Here Waiting
04. Who You Are
05. Turning Blue
06. Decide
07. Here to Blame
08. The Greatest Con
09. I'd Give Anything
10. Sweat Runs Cold
Label: Inside Out Music
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 80/100
Reviewed by: Jason Spencer
Date: 24 March, 2014
Website: www.incura.net