Power of Metal.dk Review

Harem Scarem
Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 5 December, 2014
Playing time: 39:15

No matter if the label says Harem Scarem, Rubber or Harry Hess you always know you are in for some supreme hard rock, and this new Harem Scarem album is no different. Guitarist Pete Lesperance and singer Harry Hess have been synonym for first class hard rock since they broke thru in 1991 with their self-titled debut album. "Thirteen" is as the title might have given away their 13th studio album and their first one in six years.

Not that they have been lazy during their hiatus; who doesn't remember the brilliant First Signal album from 2010 featuring Harry Hess and Darren Smith, or Harr Hess' solo album "Living in Yesterday (2012)? And when they - Harem Scarem - released the re-recorded version of their 1993 classic "Mood Swings" last year, many began to hope for a reunion, and here it is...

Listening to this new album is like going back in time to their hay-days: they have kept all their trademarks and the sound is also easily recognizable. Harry's voice and Pete's strong guitar work are still the cornerstones of their sound, and I am sure their fans wouldn't have it any other way...

Fans of theirs are somewhat divided between which era of theirs is the best, and this album will surely please the fans of their earlier material more than say fans, who like "Weight of the World" the most. But fear not; this is another first class hard rock album from the best hard rock act ever to emerge from Canada.

01. Garden of Eden
02. Live It
03. Early Warning Signs
04. The Midnight Hours
05. Whatever It Takes
06. Saints and Sinners
07. All I Need
08. Troubled Times
09. Never Say Never
10. Stardust
Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 14 December, 2014
Website: www.haremscarem.net