Power of Metal.dk Review

Grand Design
Thrill of the Night
Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 26 September, 2014
Playing time: 47:04

Def Leppard fans.... Listen up! This is something you have to check out! The Swedish hard rockers in Grand Design has refined Def Leppard's amazing sound and rock music from the 80's and they have even refined it into something incredibly interesting, tasty and easily digestible. Janne Stark on guitars (Constancia, Overdrive etc), bassist Mats Vestfjord (Chris Lane Band, Scaar), singer/producer Pelle Saether and the drummer Magnus Ulfstedt (Eclipse, Jimi Jamison, Talisman, Lion’s Share etc) have made an album perfect for my taste.

A whole bunch of melodic hard rock tracks with powerful choruses, dazzling guitars, splendid vocals and everything packed in a super tight production. The ten driven songs are all produced by singer Pelle Saether in a big, pompous and still airy sound. My superlatives don't seem to stop. I saw these guys at Väsby Rock Festival in July and they really shook my knees with an awesome show. If you like high quality hard rocking with unbelievably strong melodies with hit status in every single song. This is the album Def Leppard never wrote. 'Thrill of the Night' could have been the natural follow album up to 'Hysteria'!! This rocks 80's like nothing else...

The intro song 'U Got Me Good' is a big monster track with awesome groove, delicious guitars and excellent vocals. 'Rawk n Roll Heart Attack' is a 100% party song with easy learning choruses. 'The Rush is Gone' is a slower song with big brush strokes of Def Leppard. The pace is higher in the glittering song '10 Outta 10' and sounds a lot like Pretty Maids and Treat. The big ballad on the album is 'When the Greatest Love of All Kicks in' with charming guitars and gorgeous vocals from Pelle.

The strange title 'Rip Iddup' hides a down tempo song with some magnificent guitar loops from Janne Stark and Dennis Vestman. These two axeman complete each other perfectly. In the melodic tracks 'Get Up n Love Someone' and 'You're the Only One' sound like someone found two unknown Def Leppard tracks and re-produced them. Just awesome. 'Who's Gonna Rawk you Tonite' sound a little different and is more of and straight forward rock tune.

The title track 'Thrill of the Nite' close the album and is a dignified closure to this hard rock gem. If you love the sound of the 80's hard rock and Def Leppard in particular, this is the album you have to get in your collection. Yes that's right. This is a shining musical jewel.
Line up:
Pelle Saether: Vocals
Dennis Vestman: Guitar
Janne Stark: Lead Guitar
Mats Vassfjord: Bass
Magnus Ulfstedt: Drums

01. U Got me Good
Rawk n Roll Heart Attack
The Rush is Gone
10 Outta 10
When the Greatest Love Of All Kicks In
Rip Iddup
Get Up N Love Someone
You're the Only One
Who's Gonna Rawk You Tonite
Thrill of the Nite
Label: AOR Heaven
Distribution: AOR Heaven
Artwork rating: 84/100
Reviewed by: Patrik J Skoglund
Date: 21 September, 2014
Website: www.granddesignrocks.com