Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Experimental Black Metal
Release date: 25 November, 2013
Playing time: 35:13

Named after one of Norway's highest mountains, Glittertind started as a one man band in 2001. The teenager who started the project has grown up and refined his artistic choices. Teaming up with five other talented musicians, he created Djevelsvart.

The first critics of Glittertind's last album agree that it is a wonderful musical achievement: at the same time heavy and melodic, tough and poetic, passionate and engaged in personal and political traumatic subjects.

Djevelsvart mixies folk tunes with a metal that is sometimes doomish, sometimes more viking like, sometimes more progressive. The experimental "Sprekk for Sol" is for sure to enter the band's hitlist. I'm still not sure about the strength of the nasal vocals, strangely reminding of Otyg's Vintersorg, but its harmonies are compelling and there is a rewardable overall artistic research in this album.

There is no doubt qualifying Djevelsvart as Glittertind's best album to date.

Glittertind are planning several appearances at festivals this year, the next date being a gig at the first edition of BLASTFEST Metal Festival in the legendary club Hulen in Bergen, Norway's black metal city #1.

Check out these unique ten hymns of this mighty voice of the metal of today.

01. Inngang
02. Djevelsvart
03. Sundriven
04. Sprekk for Sol
05. Kvilelaus
06. Trollbunden
07. Nymåne
08. Tåketanker
09. Stjerneslør
10. Utgang
Label: Indie Recordings
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: LyM
Date: 15 February, 2013
Website: www.glittertind.net