Power of Metal.dk Review

Space Police - Defenders of the Crown
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: 18 April, 2014
Playing time: 54:16

The fun-loving guys from Fulda, Germany are back with their strongest album in some time. The band has an anniversary coming up fairly soon, hard to believe they began all the way back in 1992 and has been a essential part of the German metal scene since they broke into it with their sophomore album "Vain Glory Opera" in 1998.

But enough of the past, where do they stand today...? Times have changed but the trademarks remain the same, and they are playing to their strengths on "Space Police - Defenders of the Crown", from the cool album cover to the unusual choice of cover version. Tobias Sammet is the brainchild behind the band and this feels like a team effort, only a few drops of Avantasia have dripped down on these songs.

The metaphorical and humors lyrics remain an integral part of their universe, and along with Tobias' easily recognizable voice they are one-of-a-kind metal band in today's scene, but have they progressed over the years? Not that much, actually I think they are somewhat more simplistic and grounded these days. Not as powerful or as symphonic as in their earlier days, no a lot more basic heavy metal - and there's absolutely nothing wrong with that. Because they are still excellent technicians and song writers...

They even get away with a very unusual cover version sung in German: "Rock Me Amadeus", originally released by Falco in the mid-80s, and in my humble opinion one of the best German pop songs ever released (Yes, I know Falco was Austrian). And their metal version is actually quite good, not brilliant.

And it is with great joy I can announces that Edguy is back at full strength! With a strong and entertaining album, just what any Edguy fan had wished for...

01. Sabre & Torch (5:00)
02. Space Police (5:59)
03. Defenders of the Crown (5:39)
04. Love Tyger (4:26)
05. The Realms of Baba Yaga (6:06)
06. Rock Me Amadeus (3:19)
07. Do Me Like a Caveman (4:09)
08. Shadow Eaters (6:08)
09. Alone In Myself (4:36)
10. The Eternal Wayfarer (8:50)
Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Sony Music (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 18 April, 2014
Website: www.edguy.net