Power of Metal.dk Review

Into the Fire
Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 23 May, 2014
Playing time: 47:45

Classy guitar based melodic hard rock in a 80s touch. Diesel is the name of this new British rock project. With vocals from Robert Hart (Bad Company / Manfred Mann's Earth Band) and guitars from Jim Kirkpatrick (FM) it oozes of the Bad Company's classic high class rock vibes. The guest list includes Adam Wakeman (Black Sabbath and Snakecharmer) and Steve Overland (Solo, Shadowman and FM), so this is a true top album for those who loves the melodic British blues inspired hard rock with magic vocal performances.

I grew up with music from Rainbow, Foreigner, Toto, Deep Purple, Whitesnake and Thin Lizzy, and this album throws me back into my golden youth with a big bunch of classy melodies, a high class vocalist and technical guitar players. Diesel fills my expectations of a top-notch hard rock album with 'Into the Fire'. Most of the songs has a bluesy undertone and one helluva swing.

Without a trace of any filler tracks, this is a complete hard rock experience. Every song has an own structure and the mix of tempi in the songs is uplifting. Robert Hart, who was born in 1958 is currently the lead singer with Manfred Mann's Earth Band touring Europe and can still be found gigging with the likes of ex-Whitesnake Bernie Marsden. Robert is a vocal powerhouse and he might have reduced his highest tones over the last years, but he still has a vocal-power that hits me through my speakers. Jim Kirkpatrick on guitars etc is giving 'Diesel' its musical soul.

The magic FM sound is like an invisible aura over every song and 'Into the Fire' feels timeless and could have been released in the beginning of 80s, but 'Into the Fire' is packed in a very very good production. This debut album is delivering soaring adult hard rock in an flawless sound and these twelve floating, sensitive and groovy tracks are all amazingly strong.

After about forty spins, I've been listening for something to complain about this art piece, but the search has been in vain.

A monster album for fans of AOR/melodic hard rock...

Line up:
Robert Hart – Vocals
Jim Kirkpatrick – Guitars, backing vocals, additional keyboards, percussion
Jimmy Copley – Drums
Pat Davey – Bass.

Guest musicians:
Adam Wakeman – Keyboards.
Steve Overland – Backing vocals, additional guitars (track 12)
Alisdair McKenzie – horns (track 5)

01. Love Under Cover
Into The Fire
Starting Over
Fortune Favours The Brave
Brand New Day
Bitter And Twisted
So What Is Love
Let's Take The Long Way Home
Told You So
What You See Ain't What You Get
11. Skin And Bone
12. Coming Home
Label: Escape Music
Distribution: Sound Pollution
Artwork rating: 88/100
Reviewed by: Patrik J Skoglund
Date: 16 May, 2014
Website: www.escape-music.com