Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Modern influenced thrash
Release date: 6 October, 2014
Playing time: 49:00

Mighty Music has again succeeded in delivering an interesting album. This Danish band consists of ex members of Panzerchrist, Frozen Sun and Infernal Death and delivers with 'Scarred' their second album. It is a very mature and well produced album with great songs. The style is a bit a mix of old school riffs, reminding of Anthrax and Metallica, but with big influences of Disturbed, Volbeat and Mercenary in it. The vocals of Jackie Petersen are a bit harsh, but very melodic also reminding at times of the Bullet For My Valentine vocalist.

The first two tracks are strong songs, with excellent drumming and some nice riffs. "Black Rebel Noise" is a song that doesn't make me very enthusiastic, it is a bit too simple and too easy to sing a long with. "Another Day in Hell" on the other hand is a lot better and after a serene start has some very heavy pieces. The thrash granade "Poison Moon" is a perfect mix of eighties thrash riffing with melodic modern metal refrains. "10.000" is a mid-tempo track with some Metallica references and a singing style with some Hetfield patterns. The drums are amazing on this album and that is underlined in the fast song "Know You Hate", with very tight patterns. "Seven Minutes of Pain" continues on the same high level and shows that it are not just a couple of songs that are excellent written. Again the tempo and style remind a bit of Metallica, but with a big Disturbed influence on top. Another thing that makes a lot of songs interesting is the variation, the band is able to change from thrash parts into clean singing parts and back without a problem. About the song "Statement" can be written about the same and it has a nice guitar solo. After a spoken intro "Mass Frustration" ends the album in style, as a dessert the band recorded an acoustic version of "Black Rebel Noise", not a song I am waiting for, I'd rather push the repeat button to start the album all over again.

A perfect blend of old school thrash riffs with modern melodic metal parts, really something to check out!

01. Scars of Time
1000 Ways to Bleed
Black Rebel Noise
Another Day in Hell
Poison Moon
Know You Hate
Seven Minutes of Pain
09. Statement
10. Mass Frustration
11. Black Rebel Noise (acoustic)
Label: Mighty Music
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 5 October, 2014
Website: www.facebook.com/chainfist