Power of Metal.dk Review

Captain Horizon
The Lights of Distorted Science
Style: Rock
Release date: 10 February, 2014
Playing time: 70:15

“The Lights of Distorted Science” marks the recording debut of Captain Horizon and is a heartfelt exposition of Alternative Rock with traces of 1970s Prog. The songs are catchy, melodic and bluesy and underpin the eagerness of these 4 young English musicians. What I find frustrating with this album is a lack of adventure and a reluctance to go beyond writing decent songs. Both on an individual and on a compositional level it’s as if Captain Horizon are content to play it safe.


A couple of examples…..vocalist Steve ‘Whitty’ Whittington has a solid voice and a good ear for melody but if you look at the album from a wide angle, his range is rather limited. Drummer James ‘Mez’ Merrix, on the other hand, has interesting ideas but sometimes I felt he was too stiff and needed to loosen up.


Songs such as ‘Patch’, ‘The Sun Has Set’ and ‘Torn Up My World’ are indisputable proof that the band has what it takes to kick ass. I also noticed that the more I listened to this album, the more I liked it and that’s definitely a good omen.


Rather than having discouraged the band, I’d like to think that my criticisms have served as a small incentive for the band to push itself beyond its safety zone. As the rating I’ve given indicates, we could be sitting on a mine waiting to explode…but which hasn’t exploded…yet.

01. The Light
02. Shadows & Vampires
03. Patch
04. The Sun Has Set
05. Bottom of Your Heart
06. Light Years
07. Pious
08. Shell
09. Judge You
10. Brand Me a Ghost
11. Torn Up My World
12. Underworld
13. The River
14. Ex Deus
15. Patch (Acoustic Version)

16. Patch (Single Edit)
Label: Rocksector Records
Distribution: Rocksector Records
Reviewed by: Chris Galea
Date: 21 February, 2014
Website: www.captainhorizon.co.uk