Power of Metal.dk Review

Bruce Bouillet
The Order of Control
Style: Instrumental Metal
Release date: 27 January, 2014
Playing time: 51:00

Racer X were always a cut above the rest in the 1980s and “Second Heat” (1987) was arguably the band’s finest moment. Partial credit was due to the twin guitar brilliance of Paul Gilbert and Bruce Bouillet. Admittedly I haven’t heard anything from Mr Bouillet since then but the sound of his new solo album sure sounds like a close companion to “Second Heat”.


Bruce Bouillet’s skills encompass composition, melody, interpretation and technique amongst other things – in fact the strongest selling point of this album is the completeness of Bouillet as a guitarist. “The Order of Chaos” provides for some entertaining listening, which a rare quality for an instrumental album. In itself the music style is nothing new but it’s executed with enough passion and tempo breaks to keep you interested. Placing, say, ‘Defiant’ and ‘Akiko’ side by side helps appreciate the array of ideas, which pilfer from shred, Hard Rock and Bluesy moods. Having a great production only helps matters further.


Bruce Bouillet never went away but I’ve the impression that there’s more to him than is actually known. So grab yourselves a copy of “The Order of Control”, listen, enjoy and spread the word.

01. Blind as We Watched
02. Deafening
03. Seeing Through
04. Giving up the Ghost
05. Grand Reversal
06. Defiant
07. One Minute Warning
08. Order of Control
09. Crowd Control
10. Manipulators
11. Breaking the Barrier

12. Akiko
Label: Mascot Music Label
Distribution: Warner Music (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Chris Galea
Date: 20 January, 2014
Website: www.brucebouillet.com