Power of Metal.dk Review

Blood Label
Style: Death Thrash
Release date: 17 March, 2014
Playing time: 44:12

It's weird that a band like Danish Blood Label haven't had a full-length out before now. They've been around since 2008 and they've certainly paid their dues on the stages of our wee country - supporting names like Vader, Entombed and Arch Enemy along the way. They've released two EP's, but it's as if they've been holding back the full load for unnaturally long for god knows what reason. Now it's finally here; 'Skeletons' represents the capabilities of the current line-up; The Burning/ex-Dawn of Demise guitarist Alexander L. Kjeldsen, HateSphere tour bassist Nikolaj Harlis Poulsen, Dawn of Demise drummer Bastian Thusgaard, guitarist Jesper Jakobsen and vocalist Kenneth Klitte Jensen.

So what's it like, this debut album? As you can see from the rating, we're in the best end of the scale. Without actually breaking any new ground for metal music, Blood Label have put together an album which mixes a fuck-off-no-compromise-Slayer-attitude with extremely accessible, almost alternative rock compositions. Overall, Blood Label paint the picture of a band who are capable of writing actual songs without using the same recipe over and over again - which of course is a big plus in this reviewer's book! This is not to say that a red thread is missing; I don't think it is. Tue Madsen's production keeps everything together, as does the desperate voice of singer Kenneth.

Digging a bit deeper into some of the tunes, I'd like to mention Snake in the Grass which has been adorned with a riff which is simply to die for. One of those killer riffs that keeps gnawing at your brain! Stuck in Limbo holds a solo which surprised me by being very melodic and, well, nice. Bad Blood is one of the best dirty groove monsters I've heard in some time now. Paranoia is a prime example of straight-forward death thrash brutality. The title track, Skeletons, is kind of odd, and one it's taken me some time to get used to. It grows on you. Listen and try it out.

A long awaited and far beyond approved debut album from death thrashers Blood Label. Go check the album out and see this band live if you have the opportunity - it's well-worth your time and hard-earned pocket money.

01. Deliver Me From Evil
02. Snake in the Grass
03. Shotgun-Blown in the Face
04. Paranoia
05. Bad Blood
06. Stuck in Limbo
07. Hell Holds a Place For You
08. Explode
09. Disease Pit
10. Skeletons
11. Coup De Grace
12. The Black Arts
Label: Mighty Music
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 80/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 11 March, 2014
Website: www.bloodlabel.com