Power of Metal.dk Review

Barbarian Prophecies
Style: Death Thrash
Release date: 24 April, 2014
Playing time: 66:01

The last time I heard from Spanish death thrashers Barbarian Prophecies was in 2011, when I received their 'Remember the Fallen' promo. I liked it. This has not changed - I still like what the dark quartet does. This is a very portion of death thrash with a dark and brooding groove. No frills attached, really, just does the job with a bunch of tempo shifts, simple but effective breaks (clearly demonstrated for example towards the end of the song Defeated, which is one of my favourite tunes of the album).

The attentive listener will hear influences from among others Slayer (try the intro of Nameless Shadows for one...) and old-school death metal, but I still think that Barbarian Prophecies manage to bring in their own, very dark sound. Good album, this one.

01. The Hidden
02. Anger
03. Towards Nowhere
04. Into the Infinite Void
05. Twilight of Mankind
06. Embrace of Insanity
07. Dreadful Game
08. Nameless Shadows
09. Punishment of Oblivion
10. Defeated
11. 9 Days of Storm
12. Engulfed
13. XIII
Label: WormHoleDeath Records
Distribution: Soulfood
Artwork rating: 65/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 28 May, 2014
Website: Barbarian Prophecies @bandcamp