Power of Metal.dk Review

Fenris Kindir
Style: Black Metal
Release date: 10 May, 2013
Playing time: 39:32

Like all of Arckanum's albums, Fenris kindir, eighth release of the one man band is not the kind of record you will play as background music while doing something else. This is music that requires attention and concentration.

One reason for this is that the necro sound craves several listenings to percieve all the details in the music. The novice listener might find them difficult to distinct at once and focus on the foggy riffs entertwining with guttural vocals from the other side. The thing is Arckanum's sound anchors in a tradition of the darkest, reminding of old Darkthrone, Entombed, Aura Noir and stands the test of time alongside so many of those good old school black metal bands. The fact that horns, violins and contrasting female vocals are contributing to the sound landscape of Fenris Kindir is extremely enriching.

Another reason you owe to drop whatever you are doing while listening to Fenris Kindir, besides the fact that it is a foul habit to listen to music inadvertently playing in the background, is that the story frame behind the music requires your attention and knowing of it will enhance your experience of the album. Fenris kindir is a concept album, ode to the Norse mythological wolf Fenrir that will swallow sun and moon when the end of time comes.

Every track on the album is referring to the myth behind it. Is Arckanum's music managing to illustrate it properly? The answer is a personal interpretation and in my case the answer is: yes, largely. Grab Fenris kindir and check it out for yourself!

01. Fenris Kindir Grúa
02. Tungls Tjúgari
03. Dólgrinn
04. Hatarnir
05. Hamrami
06. Fenris Gangr
07. Vargřld
08. Angrboda
09. Úskepna
10. Spell
11. Sólbřls Sigr
Label: Season of Mist
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: LyM
Date: 13 April, 2014
Website: www.facebook.com/arckanum.official