Power of Metal.dk Review

Anette Olzon
Style: Rock
Release date: 28 March, 2014
Playing time: 38:05

"Shine" is the first sign of musical life from Anette Olzon since her abrupt departure from Nightwish in 2012. After spending five years in the company of Toumas Holopainen & co., one might expect that her musical journey would be down the same roads... but this has surely nothing to do with metal at all.

No we are moving towards singer/songwriter and pop-rock territory on her first solo album, and to be honest with you: this album should only be picked up by metal heads, who has a thing for artists like Tori Amos or Kate Bush as well as heavy metal. And I happen to be just one of those guys...

Isolated viewed this is a good rock album, a solid beginning so to speak, Anette Olzon has a strong rock voice and this is her chance to shine on her own (pun intended), and she does. This is surely not an album most of our regular readers should even consider picking up, but I am sure a few will like this... I did.

Need convincing, then I suggest you listen to "Falling" or "One Million Faces".

01. Like a Show Inside My Head (3:38)
02. Shine (3:27)
03. Floating (3:07)
04. Lies (5:01)
05. Invincible (3:17)
06. Hear Me (3:04)
07. Falling (4:29)
08. Moving Away (4:56)
09. One Million Faces (2:53)
10. Watching Me from Afar (4:13)
Label: earMUSIC
Distribution: Playground Music (Scandinavia)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 18 April, 2014
Website: www.anette-olzon.com