Power of Metal.dk Review

Uriah Heep
Live at the Rock of Ages Festival - Official Bootleg vol. Six
Style: Rock
Release date: 12 July, 2013
Playing time: 76:00

Despite the fact that Uriah Heep belong in the dinosaur league along with Black Sabbath and Deep Purple and have released albums since I was born (yes, I'm that old), they are a band I for some reason never felt the urge to check out. You can't listen to everything, right!

This total lack of recognition surely influences the way I've received this so-called official bootleg of Uriah Heep's performance at the Rock of Ages festival five years ago. It's really hard for me to be blown away by something which in effect sounds like dated 70's rock with which I have no emotional links - unlike e.g. Sabbath, Purple and Whitesnake whom I've listened to quite a bit throughout the years. I vaguely remember having heard the song Gypsy before, either on a compilation or as a cover, I'm not sure. It's a fine enough tune.

And that's exactly the thing; The music I've been presented to here is fine, but not sensational. Mind you, I listen with 2013 ears without prior introduction to Uriah Heep, and you know how it is; if you weren't there, it can be hard to get into it. It's alright music, although I personally think the Heep lacks a singer with a distinctive sound like Gillan or Ozzy. Bottom line is that I'm probably not in the front row when Uriah Heep's next official bootleg is recorded.

01. Overload
02. Cry Freedom
03. Falling In Love
04. Words In The Distance
05. Tears Of The World
06. Between Two Worlds
07. The Wizard
08. Free Me
09. Shadow
10. Sunrise
11. Gypsy
12. July Morning
13. Easy Livin'
14. Lady In Black
Label: Ear Music
Distribution: Playground Music (Scandinavia)
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 27 August, 2013
Website: www.uriah-heep.com