Power of Metal.dk Review

The Dillenger Escape Plan
One of Us is the Killer
Style: Experimental Math-Core
Release date: 20 May, 2013
Playing time: 41:08

The fifth album of Dillenger Escape Plan is a rather logical successor to their fourth album 'Option Paralysis'.  Samples, hyper parts, aggression and spoken parts everything is there and all in the right proportions.

"Tracer" opens ultra aggressive and "When I Lost My Bet" follows in the same typical math core style. "One of Us is the Killer" is very melodic and catchy and shows that Greg Puciato is a very good singer. Sometimes he sounds a bit like Mike Patton and even the music reminds a bit of Faith No More. "Paranoia Shields" is another track in the same kind of style.

Drummer Billy Rimer hits everything to pieces with his ultra fast drumming, but vocalist Greg impresses me the most. Aggressive hysterical screaming, whispering parts, beautiful melodic catchy sing a long parts, he manages it all. Sure, again the entire album needs some spins to figure out, but due to the production and the variable songs it stays interesting. Main man of the band Ben Weinman has created a logical follow up, but again one that takes the band a step forward and underlines that they are the real math core masters. For me the two most interesting tracks are "Magic That I Held You Prisoner" and "Crossburner", both songs are ultra aggressive with the typical ADHD patterns, but are varied by melodic parts.

Everyone who already liked the band will dribble listening to this fifth release.

01. Tracer
02. When I Lost My Bet
03. One of Us is the Killer
04. Hero of the Soviet Union
05. Nothing's Funny
06. Understanding Decay
07. Paranoia Shields
08. CH 375 268 277 ARS
09. Magic That I Held You Prisoner
10. Crossburner
11. The Threat Posed By Nuclear Weapons
Label: Party Smasher
Distribution: BMG
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 17 May, 2013
Website: www.dillingerescapeplan.org