Power of Metal.dk Review

Genesis  (Deluxe Edition)
Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 7 December, 2012
Playing time: 68:52

This is a re-release of Talisman's album from 1993. If you haven't heard them and missed out one of melodic hard rocks best projects, you have a new possibility to get your hands on this masterpiece called 'Genesis'. After the successful self titled debut album from 1990, Marcel Jacob was left alone in the band and had to find new members. He found a young and talented guitarist back home in Sweden; Fredrik Åkesson. He completely shocked the ground with his stunning guitar play and when Jeff Scott Soto returned to record this album they really made some magic tracks.

I don't know if Jeff has sung better than he did on the Talisman's albums. Marcel's very technical musical craftsmanship and his sensitive songwriting together with his ear for melodic melodies is still 20 years after very classy. It is a very big loss that Marcel committed suicide in 2009. On this deluxe version they have put some demo tracks as an extra spice in the end. The tracks are top-filled with extraordinary performance from both Fredrik and Marcel together with top class vocals from Jeff Scott Soto and are  gems to have in your collection.

On this release former Talisman members Jamie Borger, Fredrik Åkesson and Pontus Norgren honor Marcel's legacy with newly recorded drums and guitar solos on the original demo tapes and also bonus tracks: "Give Me A Sign", "Comin' Home", "U Done Me Wrong", "Time After Time". Because on the original disc did they didn't have real drums. The programmed drums from -92 are gone and on this disc Jamie Borger delivers real and heavy drumming.

Anyhow, if you like Jeff Scott Soto's vocals and are into the melodic hard rock genre and still haven't discovered this Swedish band it' about time; go get this album...

Marcel Jacob: Bass, drums
Fredrik Åkesson: Guitars
Jeff Scott Soto: Vocals

01. Comin' Home
Time After Time
Mysterious (This Time It's Serious)
If You Would Only Be My Friend
All Or Nothing
All I Want
U Done Me Wrong
I'll Set Your House On Fire
Give Me A Sign
Long Way To Go
12. Run With The Pack (Bonus Track)
13. Give Me A Sign (Demo version revisited, 2012)
14. Comin' Home (Demo version revisited, 2012)
15. U Done Me Wrong (Demo version revisited, 2012)
16. Time After Time (Demo version revisited, 2012)
Label: A Sun Hill Production
Distribution: Playground Music (Scandinavia)
Artwork rating: 81/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 19 August, 2013
Website: www.talismanmusic.se