Power of Metal.dk Review

Second Coming
Style: Melodic Metal
Release date: 22 March, 2013
Playing time: 67:44

I must confess that I wasn't one of the biggest fans of the Christian metal band Stryper back in the 80's. I just saw yellow and black leather clothes and a lot of (I mean A LOT of) hair. Time has passed, and when I got the opportunity to listen and do a review of this new album, I went on a time journey and gosh! I was wrong, very wrong. We are served 14 tracks, which are re-recorded songs from old albums and only two new songs, but if you haven't heard this band before (or did the same mistake as me) you get over one full hour of nice old fashion metal to enjoy. Michael Sweet is still a strong vocalist and the time has been humble to his voice.

Very sharp guitars and distinct drum playing create a very fresh and positive energy in the faster up-tempo tracks. I compare with the old recordings and I find this new disc even more alert and heavier than on the old vinyl discs from the 80's. In 'Sing along Song' for instance the vocals and guitars are more polished and in 'To Hell with the Devil' the strings are stiffer and Michael sings better than ever. 'The Rock That Makes Me Roll' is a potent metal track with no aging problems, full throttle and great passion from the two rhythm guys.

The new songs are heavy as lead solder and it's sad that they didn't dare to add more new material, but hopefully there will another album with only new tracks in a not too far distant future.

Anyhow, If you are an overwintered fan of the elder Van Halen, Def Leppard, Dokken and White Lion rock n' roll sound? Then I believe that you will get much out of this album.

This sparkles and shines much clearer than I expected or remembered.

Michael Sweet - vocals and guitar
Oz Fox - guitar and vocals
Tim Gaines - bass and vocals
Robert Sweet - drums

01. Loud N' Clear
Loving You
Soldiers Under Command
Makes Me Wanna Sing
First Love
The Rock That Makes Me Roll
Reach Out
To Hell With The Devil
Calling On You
12. The Way
13. Sing Along Song
14. More Then A Man
15. Bleeding From The Inside Out (New)
16. Blackened (New)
Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 66/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 9 March, 2013
Website: www.stryper.com