Power of Metal.dk Review

Spock's Beard
Brief Nocturnes and Dreamless Sleep
Style: Progressive Rock
Release date: 1 April, 2013
Playing time: 55:53 (86:04)

Spock's Beard has for a very long time been one of the premiere progressive rock bands setting the bar for many to follow. Sure the band took a small dive when Neal Morse left the band, who wouldn't? But even when the quality of the material dropped some they were still among the best and strongest bands around, just not in the top class.

But things have been looking brighter and brighter over the last couple of albums, and with "Brief Nocturnes and Dreamless Sleep" they return to the level they once had! This album is in my humble opinion all the way up there with genre highlights like "Snow" and "The Light", and has in many ways surpassed both of them. Yes, this album is their best to date, which speaks volume!

They are still operating within the safe boundaries of their well-established sound universe, but are off course pushing them to the limit and beyond; but it still feels and sounds very much like Spock's Beard. Each of the seven tracks on the album is a progressive rock masterpiece, each with it's own signature sound. The highlights are many and multi-facetted, the analogue sound is brilliant, which a warm and balanced production sees to and they band simply excel throughout the entire album.

I've been listening to this album for the past month and love everything about it, and discovers new bits and pieces each I listen to it. The mood and the sound on this album has hit me solar-plexus, and I am sure it will hit the progressive rock community right where it hurts! A magnificent piece of progressive rock that will surely be a strong contender for album of the year, not just in my universe...

For the serious audiophiles amongst us you can also purchase the limited edition, mastered at 96k / 24 bit resolution, get it here.

Disc 1:
01. Hiding Out (7:13)
02. I Know Your Secret (7:40)
03. A Treasure Abandoned (8:53)
04. Submerged (4:57)
05. Afterthoughts (6:19)
06. Something Very Strange (8:34)
07. Waiting for Me (12:36)

Disc 2 (Special edition only):
08. The Man You're Afraid You Are (7:11)
09. Down a Burning Road (6:55)
10. Wish I Were Here (6:32)
11. Something Very Strange (Sanctified Remix) (5:10)

Limited edition bonus track:
12. Postcards from Perdition (4:27)

Label: InsideOut Music
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 26 March, 2013
Website: www.spocksbeard.com