Power of Metal.dk Review

The Living Infinite
Style: Melodic Death Metal
Release date: 1 March, 2013
Playing time: 84:19

This is the 9th release by this Swedish melodic death metal combo. Perhaps we can say the 9th and the 10th, because it is a double CD with 20 new tracks. Why they decided to release a double album I don't know, but that answer will follow in the interview you can read on our site later this month.

There are no left-over's on this album, all songs are rather strong, but there are slight differences. I think that if they would have chosen 11 or 12 tracks to release one album, this would have been one of the best, or perhaps even their best album to date. Now it is sometimes a bit too much after a while. Listening to the entire record from start to finish is a rather long ride and after part 1 the idea grows that the quality of the songs fall on the second half of the album. The songs are probably a little darker and experimental and therefore less straightforward and easy to listen to. I can advice you to stop after the first 10 songs, then listen to something totally different and then start with tracks 11 to 20. You will experience that the second part of the album is almost of the same quality, but I still prefer the first half slightly over the second half.

The first track of the album "Spectrum of Eternity" is a fast and aggressive song, like on most of their albums the first track isn't the blue print for the rest. After that the more mid-tempo songs arrive and Soilwork's trademark of beautiful clean singing, melodic parts varied with harsh, grunting ones follows. After four very well arranged and well written songs, one of my favorites and probably the fastest ,most aggressive and angry track "Let the First Wave Rise" crushes everything so far. Musically the band made their best album so far, the musicians still explore themselves and the compositions and song arrangements have never been better. For some listeners 20 songs might be a little overkill, but I think fans will have no problem at all.  

Final conclusion is that this isn't an album with a few good songs and a few fills to complete the album, no far from that. Sure everyone will have their own favorite tracks and some of you might have preferred a few songs less, but in the end Soilwork has done a good job and fans of the genre will agree on that.

01. Spectrum of Eternity
02. Memories Confined
03. This Momentary Bliss
04. Tongue
05. The Living Infinite I
06. Let the First Wave Rise
07. Vesta
08. Realm of the Wasted
09. The Windswept Mercy
10. Whispers and Lights
11. Entering Aeons
12. Long Live the Misanthrope
13. Drowning With Silence
14. Antidotes in Passing
15. Leech
16. The Living Infinte II
17. Loyal Shadow
18. Rise Above the Sentiment
19. Parasite Blues
20. Owls Predict Oracles Stand Guard
Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Sony Music (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 2 March, 2013
Website: www.soilwork.org