Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Grooving Rock
Release date: 16 August, 2013
Playing time: 37:35

After 2 albums with Drowning Pool, he is back; singer Ryan Mc Combs. During his absence the band Soil has recorded 2 good albums with AJ Cavalier on vocals. In 2010 drummer Tom Schofield also left the band, so now the band exists of 3 members only; Tim King on bass, Adam Zadel on guitar and Mc Combs.

Despite that, the music didn't change a lot. Groovy rock is still what they serve. Mc Combs vocals stick to the music like glue and there isn't a bad song on the album. The drums on this album were well performed by Wil Hunt (Black Label Society, Evanescence a.o.). It isn't easy to pick out the best tracks on this album, but one I want to mention is the track "Amalgamation". Not only one of the best tracks because of the music, but also because of the lyrics. Song titles from both the Soil and Drowning Pool releases can be traced in the lyrics. Fans of both bands can start a competition of how many they can find.

Like the other albums of the band Soil, you will not find lot new original ideas; they just do what they are best at: performing groovy hard rocking songs!

01. Loaded Gun
02. The Hate Song
03. Ugly
04. Way Gone
05. Psychopath
06. Shine On
07. Wake Up
08. Amalgamation
09. My Time
10. Little Liar
11. One Love
Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 15 August, 2013
Website: www.soiltheband.com