Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 25 January, 2013
Playing time: 57:12

Six of the UK's most esteemed and experienced rock musicians have joined forces to create the super group Snakecharmer. Original Whitesnake members Micky Moody and Neil Murray have teamed up with Laurie Wisefield (Wishbone Ash), Harry James (Thunder, Magnum), Adam Wakeman (Ozzy Osbourne) and Chris Ousey (Heartland) to bring you classic twin-guitar based rock as it should be played. This is a team that can't loose. Classic hard rock with one of the pleasant and most comfortable voices in the adult rock genre. Chris Ousey's solo record from 2001 was one of the best releases that year and with this support and co members, my expectations for this album were high, very high...

A Whitesnake sound with a bluesy and melodic touch is present and the adult melodies with old fashion 80s hard rock tempo. As you may understand this is a pleasant disc with a lot of dazzling guitars and excellent vocals. Wakeman on keyboard is contributing with a cozy Jon Lord mood in several songs. The veterans have really gotten together and found the way back to the basic hard rock tune with the groovy blues feel and at the same time keep the stiffer hard rocking sound. Like in the catchy song 'To the Rescue' where Chris really should fit in a smoky bar with his mates. Magical. In the slow and sensitive 'Falling Leaves' is a strong ballad in world class. 'Turn of the Screw' is a cool song with easy-to-learn choruses.

If you like this kind of blues rock this is a must buy album.

Snakecharmer has the mature style with no mambo-jambo or high speed technical extravagances. It's controlled with many harmonies and a splendid musical craftsmanship that is woven together into this masterful disc that I just want to continue to listen to, although I have to publish this review. This will be in my Ipod for a long long time.

Great work guys!!

Chris Ousey - lead vocals
Micky Moody - guitar, slide guitar, vocals
Laurie Wisefield - guitar, vocals
Adam Wakeman - keyboards, vocals
Neil Murray - bass
Harry James - drums, vocals

01. My Angel
Accident Prone
To the Rescue
Falling Leaves
A Little Rock and Roll
Turn of the Screw
Smoking Gun
Stand Up
Guilty As Charged
Nothing To Lose
Cover Me In You
Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 89/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 15 January, 2013
Website: www.snakecharmer.org