Power of Metal.dk Review

Shatter Messiah
Hail the New Cross
Style: Technical Power Metal
Release date: 11 October, 2013
Playing time: 39:06

Almost 7 years after their second album 'God Burns Like Flesh' here is finally the next episode. Together with the debut 'Never to Play the Servant' both albums are quite good. Bandleader Curran Murphy and drummer Robert Falzone (also Annihilator) are the only two old members left. Pat Gibson (guitar), Jim Lewis (bass) and new vocalist Michael Duncan are the three new recruits.

Greg Wagner, the singer on the first two albums has a voice sounding a bit similar to Warrel Dane and the band sometimes was unfairly put aside as an inferior copy of Nevermore. With new singer Michael this isn't the case anymore, although he also has some similarities to Dane in the highs. In general his voice sounds rawer and more sandpapered. In those parts he sometimes has more David Wayne influences.

Again the music on this album is very good and you can hear that Murphy still is the main songwriter. It is in the line of the first two albums, but it sounds a little bit more modern. Tight heavy massive chainsaw guitar riffs carry the songs. The music is a mix between thrash, U.S. power metal and with a progressive touch. You can say that this album is a bit more melodic than their first two albums and a bit more progressive. Like on the first two albums , the virtuoso guitar playing and the at times complex song structures are still a Shatter Messiah trademark.

U.S. Metal lovers that like music somewhere in between bands like Vicious Rumors, Heathen, Sanctuary, Iced Earth and Nevermore will certainly find a lot they will like on this 'Hail the New Cross' album.

01. Disconnecting
02. Future Fails
03. Memory Flames
04. How Deep the Scar
05. Loyal Betrayer
06. Gods of Divinity
07. Mercenary Machine
08. This Addiction
Label: Mausoleum Records
Distribution: H'Art
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 12 October, 2013
Website: www.shattermessiah.com