Power of Metal.dk Review

War of Ages
Style: Symphonic Power Metal
Release date: 22 March, 2013
Playing time: 54:05

Austrian band Serenity releases the follow up for their 2011 album 'Death and Legacy'. I was very pleased about that one and the new album is completely in line with that. No new or drastically changes on this album. Their symphonic power metal with orchestration is still a feast for the ear.

Georg Neuhauser; his vocals are still of a high quality and reminds me a bit of Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica). Mystical songs like "Shining Oasis", the ballad "For Freedom's Sake", classical influences on "Symphony for the Quiet" and orchestral epic tracks like "Tannenberg", all can be heard on this album. The difference between this album and 'Death and Legacy' is not that big and perhaps that is why I am just a little less enthusiastic about this record.

New female vocalist Clémentine Delauney shows on the track "Royal Pain" that her definite membership is justified. Powermetal fans that like a mix of Nightwish, Kamelot and a large influence of Sonata Arctica should purchase this album without hesitation. Serenity shows that they can continue the high musical quality and with this album they have made a definite entry in the top 10 of the symphonic power metal bands.

01. Wings of Madness
02. The Art of War
03. Shining Oasis
04. For Freedom's Sake
05. Age of Glory
06. The Matricide
07. Symphony for the Quiet
08. Tannenberg
09. Legacy of Tudors
10. Royal Pain
Label: Napalm Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 16 March, 2013
Website: www.myspace.com/serenitybandtirol