Power of Metal.dk Review

From Ashes to Fire
Style: Progressive Hard Rock
Release date: 17 May, 2013
Playing time: 67:46

Swedish Saffire from Gothenburg is a new and bright shining star on the metal heaven. The band has been alive since 2006 and with some demo's in their backpack, the guys are now ready to release their debut album. The colourful blend of good old 70-80's rock 'n' roll and the modern progressive metal sounds fresh and groovy and with Tobias Jansson vocals this sounds very delicious and powerful. Victor Olsson and Dino Zuzic are the creators of the band as well as the songwriters.

This production is amazingly strong and professional and the sound is flawless. The melodic metal rock with technical progressive twists tickles my sensitive musical ear canals so I becomes completely shaky. Very tasty tracks, which are masterful balanced and have influences from old school sound like 70s Sabbath, Rainbow, Zeppelin and Van Halen and mixed up with modern progressive metal ingredients. Tobias is a star singer and has a vocal tone in Jorn Lande division.

Inner Wound Recordings has done a real bargain when they signed these guys, because this can be a long, really long journey, if the demanding melodic metal audience would discover these Gothenburgers first masterpiece. In my ears is this one album in 2013's absolute top level. I haven't found even a single filler track on the album and every song has spices and flavours that make this an very delightful acquaintance that I will keep in my Ipod for a very long time. Not an earthshaking release, but I like 'From Ashes to Fire' mixture of old secure rock sound and healthy new energies that the progressive elements provides.

This is a must purchase if you like mature melodic progressive hard rock, excellent vocals and brilliant musical craftsmanship.

Both my thumbs are up.

Line up:
Tobias Jansson - vocals
Victor Olsson - guitars
Anton Roos - drums
Dino Zuzic - keyboards
Magnus Carlsson - bass

01. Magnolia
Kingdom of the Blind
Freedom Call
End of the World
What If
A Symphony Unheard
Modus Vivendi
The Betrayer's Fate
She Remains a Mystery
11. Say Goodbye
12. The Redemption
13. Stormy Waters
Label: Inner Wound Recordings
Distribution: Sound Pollution
Artwork rating: 83/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 24 April, 2013
Website: www.saffire.se Info - W E T - Rise Up