Power of Metal.dk Review

Rotting Christ
Kata Ton Daimona Eaytoy
Style: Black/Folk/Gothic Metal
Release date: 1 March, 2013
Playing time: 55:58

Rotting Christ together with Septic Flesh and Nightfall are the three Greek bands that put the heavier part of Greek metal on the global map. After their in my eyes a little too gothic sounding albums, the band have found back their way and I have to say that this album is even better than the predecessor 'Aeaola'. There is a better balance between the Greek black metal sound, the folk parts, the bombastic choir singing, the piano parts, the pipes and other traditional instruments.

The first track has a kind of industrial rhythm, but with the typical Rotting Christ riffs. After that a potpourri of styles and influences follow on the rest of the album. Melancholy, mystical folk songs, piano parts, furious black metal parts, Eastern elements, Slavonic rhythms everything passes by. The brothers Sakis (vocals, guitars, bass) and Themis (drums) are able to use this all without creating a mess. They take the song as a base and add all the extra elements to make the tracks stronger.

It will be a hell of a job to present this live on stage without a tape running in the background, but a band like Therion does the same. The last track "Welcome to Hel" isn't a Venom cover, it is track that reminds me a bit of the better Therion songs. Final conclusion is that if you like experimental, oriental blackened metal and are open minded for lots of influences, this is a must buy.

01. In Yumen - Xilbalba
02. P'unchaw kachun - Tuta kachun
03. Grandis Spiritus Diavolos
04. Kata Ton Daimona Eaytoy
05. Cine iubeste si lasa
06. Iwa Voodoo
07. Gilgames
08. Pycanka ("Rusalka")
09. Ahura Mazda-Anra Mainiuu
10. X = E ("666")
11 Welcome to Hel
Label: Season of Mist
Distribution: Season of Mist
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 2 March, 2013
Website: www.rotting-christ.com