Power of Metal.dk Review

Rage of Angels
Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 22 February, 2013
Playing time: 63:34

It's an amazing feeling when a new album hits me without any warning or a prior information. Ten's keyboard player Ged Ryland's brainchild and dream project Rage Of Angels is just that kind of an album. Together with special guest vocalists and musicians in world-class he has probably created one of 2013 best albums already!!

Vocalists: Matti Alfonzetti (Impera), Harry Hess (Harem Scarem, Hess), Robert Hart (Bad Company), David Reed Watson!, Ralph Scheepers (Primal Scream) and Danny Vaughn (Tyketto). Another ex-Ten member; Neil Fraser, provides the majority of the playing on the album. Tommy Denander, Martin Kronlund, Vinny Burns (Asia, Ten, Ultravox), Ralph Santolla (Iced Earth, Obituary) and Xander Demos are guest string masters and with Michael Carlson on the bass and Pera Johanssen on the percussions, the long line-up is complete.

It's outrageously melodic and insanely tasteful with harmonic choruses. Each track has its own characteristics and it depends obviously on who is the lead vocalist. It feels like it's tailored and unique for each singer and guest guitarist. Still, the album is interwoven with the same musical thread from the beginning and into end. Cheeky guitars that conjures up pictures of music that grows and gives colors that brighten up all the tedious weekdays. With a few ounces of Tyketto, Harem Scarem and Ten and seasoned with chunks of Swedish steel and German metal, everything sounds just awesome and it feels fresh and very adult.

The intro song 'Dreamworld' is a seven minutes long musical buffet with big, fat, bloody rock 'n' roll steaks with tasty red wine sauce! 'See You Walking By' continues the music party and the melodic tones are very balanced and well constructed. Excellent vocals from Harry Hess and a lot of AOR feelings. Robert Hart is the front man on 'Through It All' and it is a beautiful hard rock song spiced with Neil Fraser's lead guitar as a high-voltage injection. The catchy track 'Over And Over' with Danny Vaughn as lead singer is a positive and nice little rock 'n' roll gem.

The languishing song 'The Beating of Your Heart', where I hear a new rock voice that keeps absolutely as high level as the other star singers on the album. It's David Reed Watson with elegant and confident voice, which leads us through the sensitive and emotional ballad. When Tommy Denander also unleashes the guitar, I fall down on my knees and bow me in front of the guitar genius. Ralph Scheeper's voice is like a sharp hot knife cutting through butter in the track 'Falling' and the guitars from Neil are magnificent.

Another high class track is the instrumental 'Requiem for the Forgotten Soldier' with brilliant guitar entertainment from Santolla, Kronlund, Demos and Burns. If you like pompous and technical guitar rock, then this is track seven minutes of pure love. "Dreamworld" ends with the almost nine minute long ballad 'We Live, We Breathe, We Die', which is a slow, strong and powerful closing track.

If the earth is still spinning for another year and I'll compile the best disc's of 2013, this album must be on my top ten list! It's already a classic!

Thanks for the opportunity to write and listen to this album!

01. Dreamworld
See You Walking By
Through It All
Over And Over
Prelude For The Gods
The Beating of Your Heart
Spinnin Wheel
Requiem for the Forgotten Soldier
10. We Live, We Breathe, We Die
Label: Escape Music
Distribution: Sound Pollution (Scandinavia)
Artwork rating: 96/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 21 January, 2013
Website: www.escape-music.com