Power of Metal.dk Review

Place Vendome
Thunder in the Distance
Style: Melodic Hard Rock
Release date: 1 November, 2013
Playing time: 54:10

Serafino Perugino is the president of Frontiers Records and also the brain behind the melodic hard rock super project Place Vendome, formed in 2004. Place Vendome was formed by ex-Helloween vocalist Michael Kiske, Dennis Ward, Kosta Zafiriou and Uwe Reitenauer (Pink Cream 69) and Gunther Werno (keyboards) (Vanden Plas). Their self titled debut album was released in 2004 and in 2009 the killer album 'Streets of Fire' was released. Some of Place Vendome's members (Kiske, Ward and Zafiriou), joined forces with guitarist Mandy Meyer, to form the rock band Unisonic in 2010, but didn't release their (Unisonic's) debut album until 2012.

I'm very happy that they have reunited and released this brand new disc under the Place Vendome flag again. Kosta Zarafirou isn't the drummer anymore. He has been replaced by Dirk Bruinenberg (Adagio, Elegy).

'The Thunder in the Distance' features songs by Magnus Karlsson (Primal Fear), Timo Tolkki (ex-Stratovarius), Alessandro Del Vecchio (Hardline, Lionville), Tommy Denander (Radioactive, Impera), Sören Kronqvist (Sunstorm, Issa) and Andrea Cantarelli (Labyrinth, A Perfect Day).

I'm thrilled and excited about this new album and already during the first listening of the album I'm very very pleased and 100% satisfied. Thirteen absolutely amazing songs and very captivating melodies from the very first track 'Talk to Me' through the last song, the title track. Magnificent singing from Michael (is this his best vocal performance ever?) and the stunning songs packed in a flawless production. With such talented musicians and with all these great songwriters it's hard to not succeed. This is one of 2013's strongest melodic hard rock albums!

After at least twenty spins, I still discovers many small delicacies and captures in the songs that are elegantly woven into the melodies. That's a quality stamp for me, because on the light-weight division albums there is nothing left to be impressed by after ten spins, but on this solid, heavy weight album there is a ocean of musical art to be mesmerized by.

My overall rating is: A damn good AOR/melodic hard rock album you will have big pleasures from for a long, long time.

01. Talk To Me
Power Of Music
Broken Wings
Lost In Paradise
It Can't Rain Forever
Fragile Ground
Hold Your Love
Never Too Late
Heaven Lost
My Heart Is Dying
11. Break Out
12. Maybe Tomorrow
13. Thunder In The Distance
Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 88/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 31 October, 2013
Website: www.frontiers.it/news/10671