Power of Metal.dk Review

Pink Cream 69
Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 25 January, 2013
Playing time: 45:32

Pink Cream 69 releases their new album 'Ceremonial' on Frontiers Records and this is a high quality album with all the good stuff in the candy bag. Splendid vocals, heavy drums, sharp guitars and mega strong melodies. 'Land of Confusion' is a monster song, which takes my breath away immediately. The band was formed back in 1987 by Andi Deris (Helloween), Dennis Ward (Unisonic), Alfred Koffler and Kosta Zafiriou. This their eleventh studio album, so these guys know how to rock. With some small changes in the bands line-up, their constellation is very solid and the contagious joy of playing their music is spreading from the speakers and I feel it right into the spinal chord that they are so eager to entertain.

Alfred and Dennis are the remaining members left from in the original line-up, but Pink Cream 69 is showing their strengths and musicality on this disc. David Readman on vocals is a powerhouse! I'm very impressed of his work. Five years have passed since their last studio album and they have used the time well. Very melodic and soft lush harmonies together with brilliant instrumental debauchery.

It's not  a hard or tough atmosphere. It is with affectionate lyrics where you are feeling the true meanings. Very mature and adult rock music that will attract listeners, who want a male vocalist in top-class mixed in very beautiful melodic rock music with ultra stylish guitar loops that makes you happy and pleased. Everything stays in the middle lane of the highway and it feels safe to ride with Pink Cream 69. Nothing stands out or spice my soup with some hot chili or so. Clean and tidy with numerous small delicatessen that creates an easygoing structure that I like.

This is a borderline case of feeling a bit toothless and lame, but 'Ceremonial' is very pleasant and enjoyable to listen to in the long run. It grows with every spin. Groovy, driven and catchy rock songs packed in a strong and raw production that generates a high overall rating.

Very recommended album!

Pink Cream 69 is: David Readman – vocals, Alfred Koffler – guitars, Uwe Reitenauer – guitars, Dennis Ward – bass, Chris Schmidt – drums.

01. Land of Confusion
Wasted Years
Find Your Soul
The Tide
Big Machine
Let the Thunder Roll
Right from Wrong
Passage of Time
I Came to Rock
King for One Day
12. Superman
Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 85/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 12 January, 2013
Website: www.pinkcream69.com