Power of Metal.dk Review

Orphaned Land
All Is One
Style: Progressive Oriental Metal/Rock
Release date: 24 June, 2013
Playing time: 54:26

Vocalist Kobi Fahri is still fighting against the everlasting battle between Christians, Muslims and Jews. His message is that although there are differences we all should live together in peace. The album title 'All is One', which can be translated as 'We Are All the Same' says it all. At live gigs fans of the band with different backgrounds and from different religions stand side by side and that should not be the only occasion.

On this new album the musical evolution has been developed even further. Gone for the biggest part are the deathgrunts, it's only in "Fail" you hear them. Also the songs are shorter and more to the point. The base of their music is more progressive rock, but with lots of orchestral parts. A 25 piece choir and eight classic musicians accompany the band with violins and cello. The clean vocals of Kobi sound very warm and makes this a rather easy listenable album. Gone for a big part is the contrast between heavy and softer parts, especially because of the missing grunts. Instead of that there are a lot nice oriental melodies throughout the entire album. Fans of the first hour will be a bit disappointed perhaps, because the album isn't that heavy, but the songs are very well arranged and well produced by Jens Bogren. Orphaned Land shows that they are the pioneers of oriental metal/rock and that it doesn't have to be only heavy.

To mention one or two songs that are the best would do other songs injustice because every song has something special and have all the same high level. Like I already said, only the track "Fail" reminds a lot of their earlier music, starting with spoken words and the grunts give the song a heavy and morbid character. The female singing in an occasional song is done by Mira Awad. To underline the message the artwork is a combination of the different religious symbols.

This is an album of hope and there is nothing wrong with that, because what should we do without hope?

01. All Is One
02. The Simple Man
03. Brother
04. Let the Truce Be Known
05. Through Fire and Water
06. Fail
07. Freedom
08. Shama'im
09. Ya Benaye
10. Our Own Messiah
11. Children
Label: Century Media
Distribution: Universal (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 85/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 25 June, 2013
Website: www.orphaned-land.com